The Scrutiny Committee undertakes the Council's statutory scrutiny responsibilities primarily in respect of:

  • health
  • crime and disorder
  • flood risk management

The Scrutiny Committee also has responsibility for carrying out scrutiny reviews or investigations on behalf of standing and local committees. To help agree the priorities for review, the Scrutiny Committee holds an annual discussion with the chairs of the standing and local committees. Depending on resources available within the Scrutiny Committee, they may also consider requests referred by these committees during the year.

The Scrutiny Committee investigates, takes evidence and consults upon issues within its remit. The Scrutiny Committee may produce reports containing recommendations that a relevant service or partner should have regard to. In the case of formal investigations, a written response to any recommendations made by the Scrutiny Committee is required from the relevant committee or partner.

The Committee meets four times a year. Please click on the link to view the meeting papers.

Scheduled meetings for the 2018/19 cycle are:

  • 25 July 2018
  • 17 October 2018
  • 6 February 2019
  • 8 May 2019

Please click on the link to view contact details for members of the Committee.

You can use the scrutiny email address,, to raise issues which you would like the Committee to consider for their work plan.

The South West London and Surrey County Council Joint Health Scrutiny Committee is established by the Local Authorities of London Borough of Croydon, London Borough of Merton, London Borough of Richmond upon Thames, Surrey County Council, London Borough of Sutton, London Borough of Wandsworth, and the Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames to undertake scrutiny in response to reconfiguration proposals or strategic issues affecting health services of some or all of these boroughs.

The South West London and Surrey JHSC sub-committee - Improving Healthcare Together 2020-2030 is established by the Local Authorities of the London Borough of Merton, Surrey County Council and London Borough of Sutton to undertake scrutiny of the work being undertaken by the 3 Clinical Commissioning Groups (NHS Surrey Downs, Sutton and Merton) responsible for making decisions about how healthcare services should be provided in the local area.