Post-16 Travel Assistance

Post-16 Travel Assistance to Education and Training

In line with the Raising of the Participation Age (RPA), the London Borough of Sutton is committed to ensuring that young people aged 16 to 18 are encouraged and supported to continue with their education and training where this is appropriate and suitable to their needs.  This will enable young people to acquire the knowledge, skills and experience necessary for their personal development and progression into future employment or Higher Education.

This support is available to all young people aged 16-18 entering or continuing further education and to continuing learners aged 19 to 25 with Learning Difficulties and Disabilities (LDD) who satisfy the eligibility criteria.

The attached document is the London Borough of Sutton’s Transport Policy Statement which the Education Act 1996 requires all Local Authorities to publish each year, setting out what travel assistance is available from the London Borough of Sutton and other bodies, to help young people aged 16-18 (and learners aged 19 to 25 with LDD) to access school or further education institutions.

The policy statement applies to all students participating in the scheme and supersedes all previous transport arrangements and entitlements.  Funding for travel assistance is subject to annual budgets and financial affordability.  The Transport Policy Statement will be reviewed annually.

This policy covers the Academic Year 2018/19, from 1 August 2018 to 31 July 2019.


Disabled Persons Freedom Pass

The London borough of Sutton issue freedom passes to disabled people. Download further details of eligibility criteria.

Adults and children over the age of 5 who meet the criteria should apply to London Borough of Sutton, Civic Offices, St Nicholas Way, Sutton, Surrey, SM1 1EA. Telephone 020 8770 4537.

An application form will be sent to you on request or can be collected from civic offices. Download an application form.

Residence: Your permanent place of residence must be within the London Borough of Sutton.

Permanent Disability: Freedom Passes are issued in line with the central principle of the DDA definition. The types of disability that enable people to claim the statutory minimum are those which are permanent or which have lasted at least 12 months and which have a substantial effect on a person’s ability to carry out normal day to day activities.

Post-16 Transport Policy

Home to School Transport Policy

Application Form

Independent Travel Training: A Parent’s Guide