Since 2016, we have been conducting a borough-wide review of parking measures in Sutton. We have consulted over 90,000 residents on a range of parking proposals.

As a result:

  • 17 parking permit schemes have been installed, amended, or extended
  • 11 free bay schemes have been implemented

Parking remains one of the issues of most concern to residents. We have received many further requests for a review of parking arrangements in streets across Sutton.

We will continue to review new parking requests and issues received from residents, businesses, and councillors. This will ensure that we are:

  • managing parking effectively
  • prioritising parking for local people
  • identifying new areas where parking pressures emerge

What is left to deliver

We are currently reviewing a further 500 requests for parking changes.

We measure requests for parking changes against set criteria. These are:

  • prioritising road safety
  • levels of resident/councillor support 
  • where access issues have been highlighted by the emergency services or waste and recycling services
  • where measures might support sustainable transport options
  • where commuter parking or congestion is an issue

You can make a request online on the parking requests webpage

Streets currently under consultation

Cheam and Sutton South 

As part of the parking review we are currently gathering initial feedback from residents in Cheam and Sutton South.

Letters outlining parking proposals have been sent to residents in the following streets:

The informal stage of this consultation closes on 23 July 2024. We will then review the feedback before we decide whether or not we take the proposals to statutory consultation.

Respond to the Cheam and Sutton South informal consultation

Recently closed consultations

Hackbridge PPA

On 13 June 2024, we closed a final consultation on a review of the HB2 permit parking area (PPA) in Hackbridge.

The formal traffic management order proposal included reducing the hours and days of operation of the HB2 PPA to Monday to Friday 8am to 5pm.

We also proposed introducing a new PPA in Hackbridge (HB3) operating Monday to Friday from 8am to 5pm. Letters were sent to residents in the following streets.

  • Bluebell Close
  • Clover Way
  • Foxglove Way
  • Poppy Close
  • Primrose Close
  • Violet Close

Existing private parking bays will not be affected by these proposals.

We will now review the feedback from this consultation before we decide whether or not to implement the proposals. We will update this page shortly.

Hackbridge

On June 13, 2024 we closed a final consultation on a number of parking proposals in Hackbridge and The Wrythe.

The formal traffic management order proposal was for the following streets:

We will now review the feedback before we decide whether or not to implement the proposals. We will update this page shortly.

Belmont, Carshalton South and Clockhouse 

On June 6, 2024 we closed an initial consultation on parking proposals in Belmont, Carshalton South and Clockhouse.

Letters outlining parking proposals were sent to residents in the following streets:

We will now review the feedback from the consultation responses before we decide whether or not we take the proposals to statutory consultation.

Worcester Park South

On June 6, 2024 we closed an informal consultation on parking proposals in Worcester Park South.

Letters were sent to local residents outlining parking proposals for:

We will now review the feedback from the consultation responses before we decide whether or not we take the proposals to statutory consultation.

AW PPA review 

On April 11, 2024 we closed the final consultation on a review of the AW permit parking area (PPA) in Sutton North.

The formal traffic management order proposal included proposals to extend the AW PPA zone to include Rosehill Park West and Rosehill Gardens.

We are now reviewing feedback before we decide whether or not we implement any changes. We will update this page shortly.

South Beddington and Roundshaw 

On 14 March 2024 we closed an informal consultation from residents in South Beddington and Roundshaw.

Letters outlining parking proposals were sent to residents in the following streets:

We are now reviewing feedback before we decide whether or not we take any proposals to statutory consultation. We will update this page shortly.

Sutton South PPA review

On 14 March 2024 we closed an informal consultation with residents within the Sutton South permit parking area (PPA).

Letters were sent to residents in the current permit area asking for their feedback, along with residents in neighbouring streets outside of the PPA boundary (who may have suffered from parking displacement and may wish to be included in the parking area) in future.

We are now reviewing feedback before we decide whether or not we take any proposals to statutory consultation. We will update this page shortly.

Green CPZ review

On 14 March 2024 we closed an informal consultation with residents within the extended Green controlled parking zone (CPZ).

Letters were sent to residents in the section of the zone that was extended in November 2020 asking for their feedback. Residents in neighbouring streets outside of the CPZ boundary (who may have suffered from parking displacement and may wish to be included in the parking zone) in future were also consulted.

We are now reviewing feedback before we decide whether or not we take any proposals to statutory consultation. We will update this page shortly.

Stonecot, Belmont, Sutton West and East Cheam

On 14 March 2024 we closed a final consultation on a number of parking proposals in Stonecot, Belmont, Sutton West and East Cheam.

The formal traffic management order proposal was for the following streets:

We are now reviewing feedback before we decide whether or not to implement any changes. We will update this page shortly.

Sutton South

On 29 February 2024 we closed an informal consultation on parking proposals in Sutton South.

Letters outlining parking proposals were sent to residents in the following streets:

We are now reviewing feedback before we decide whether or not we take any proposals to statutory consultation. We will update this page shortly.

Beddington

On 29 February 2024 we closed an informal consultation on parking proposals in Beddington.

Letters outlining parking proposals were sent to residents in the following streets:

We are now reviewing feedback before we decide whether or not we take any proposals to statutory consultation. We will update this page shortly.

WP1 CPZ review

On 15 February 2024 we closed an informal consultation with residents in the WP1 Longfellow Road controlled parking zone (CPZ).

Letters were sent to residents in the current permit zone asking for their feedback, along with residents in neighbouring streets outside of the CPZ boundary (who may have suffered from parking displacement and may wish to be included in the parking zone) in future.

We are now reviewing feedback before we decide whether or not we take any proposals to statutory consultation. We will update this page shortly.

WP2 PPA review

On 15 February 2024 we closed an informal consultation with residents within the WP2 Moreton Road permit parking area (PPA).

Letters were sent to residents in the current permit area asking for their feedback, along with residents in neighbouring streets outside of the PPA boundary (who may have suffered from parking displacement and may wish to be included in the parking area) in future.

We are now reviewing feedback before we decide whether or not we take any proposals to statutory consultation. We will update this page shortly.

Worcester Park, Cheam and North Cheam

On January 11, 2024 we closed an informal consultation from residents in Worcester Park, Cheam and North Cheam.

Letters outlining parking proposals were sent to residents in the following streets:

We are now reviewing feedback before we decide whether or not we take any proposals to statutory consultation. We will update this page shortly.

Sutton North

On January 11, 2024 we closed a formal consultation on a proposal in Sutton North.

The formal traffic management order for proposals included Vale Road.

We are now reviewing feedback before we decide whether or not we implement any changes. We will update this page shortly.

North Cheam  

On 23 November, 2023 we closed an informal consultation for parking proposals in North Cheam.

Letters outlining parking proposals were sent to residents in the following streets:

We are now reviewing feedback before we decide whether or not we take any proposals to statutory consultation. We will update this page shortly.

Sutton South 

On 2 November 2023 we closed an initial consultation for parking proposals in Sutton South.

Letters outlining parking proposals were sent to residents in the following streets:

We are now reviewing feedback before we decide whether or not we take any proposals to statutory consultation. We will update this page shortly.

Sutton Central and Belmont

On 2 November, 2023 we closed a final consultation on a number of proposals in Sutton Central and Belmont.

The formal traffic management order proposals included the following streets:

We are now reviewing the feedback to the formal consultation before we decide whether or not to implement the proposals. We will update this page when a decision is taken.

HB1 Permit Parking Area review

On October 27, 2023 we closed an informal consultation on the HB1 permit parking area.

Letters were sent to residents in the current permit zone asking for their feedback. As part of the review we are proposing the introduction of double yellow lines at some locations along with proposed new kerbs on part of Wandle Road to assist with partial footway parking.

We are now reviewing the feedback to the formal consultation before we decide whether or not to implement the proposals. We will update this page when a decision is taken.

Hackbridge, Sutton North, St Helier West, Sutton Central and The Wrythe 

On 19 October, 2023 we closed a final consultation on a number of proposals in Hackbridge, Sutton North, St Helier West, Sutton Central and The Wrythe.

The formal traffic management order proposals included the following streets:

We are now reviewing feedback before we decide whether or not we implement any changes. We will update this page shortly.

Sutton South, Sutton North, The Wrythe, Cheam, Carshalton Central, Carshalton South and Clockhouse

On October 19, 2023 we closed a final consultation on a number of proposals in Sutton South, Sutton North, The Wrythe, Cheam, Carshalton Central and Carshalton South and Clockhouse.

The formal traffic management order proposals included the following streets:

We are now reviewing feedback before we decide whether or not we implement any changes. We will update this page shortly.

Belmont, Sutton Central, North Cheam, Sutton West and East Cheam

On October 5, 2023 we closed a final consultation on a number of proposals in Belmont, Sutton Central, North Cheam, Sutton West and East Cheam.

The formal traffic management order proposals included the following streets:

We are now reviewing feedback before we decide whether or not we implement any changes. We will update this page shortly.

CB permit parking area review

Following a formal consultation which closed on September 28, 2023, we are now progressing with changes to the CB permit parking area.

The CB PPA, which operates Monday-Friday from 10am to noon, will be extended to include:

  • Blakehall Road (between Glebe Road and Salisbury Road)
  • Glebe Road between (Blakehall Road and Grosvenor Avenue).

Adding eligibility to obtain a resident permit for:

  • Blakehall Road (even) Nos. 44 to 52 and (odd) 39 to 61
  • Grosvenor Avenue No. 120
  • Salisbury Road No. 69.

We are also proceeding with various double yellow line restrictions on Blakehall Road, Carshalton Park Road, Glebe Road and Grosvenor Ave.

The new extended PPA zone was due to be operational from July 1, 2024, but implementation has been delayed due to ongoing utility works in the area. Letters have been sent to eligible permit holders about the delay to the start date for the new zone. Any purchased permits will remain valid for 12 months from any new start date.

Hackbridge and The Wrythe

On 26 September, 2023 we closed an informal consultation following a number of requests for parking changes in Hackbridge and The Wrythe.

Letters were sent to residents in the following streets.

We are now reviewing the feedback to the formal consultation before we decide whether or not to implement the proposals. We will update this page when a decision is taken.

CS1, Sutton North and Belmont

On 20 July, 2023 we closed a formal traffic management order consultation for a number of proposals in Carshalton Central, Sutton North and Belmont.

A number of proposals have been implemented. Proposals for the following streets are either underway or remain under consideration following feedback from the consultation. 

We will update this page when a decision is taken.

Carshalton South and Clockhouse ward

On 15 December, 2022 we closed an informal consultation following a number of requests for parking changes in the following streets.

We are now reviewing feedback before we decide whether or not we take any proposals to statutory consultation. We will update this page when a decision is taken.